13 April 2015

Webcast from Althingi on monetary policy

The Monetary Policy Committe 2012

This was be the Monetary Policy Committee’s tenth meeting with Parliamentary committees. A list of previous meetings can be found here

The webcast is available here.

The Act on the Central Bank of Iceland stipulates that the Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) of the Central Bank of Iceland shall submit to Parliament (Althingi) a report on its activities twice a year and that the contents of the report shall be discussed in the Parliamentary committee of the Speaker’s choosing. The MPC originally met with three committees: the Economics and Tax Committee, the Commerce Committee, and the Budget Committee. Following amendments made to the Act on Parliamentary Procedure, the Economic Affairs and Trade Committee has been entrusted with functions relating to the MPC report.

Már Guðmundsson, Governor and Chair of the Monetary Policy Committee; Arnór Sighvatsson, Deputy Governor and MPC member; Gylfi Zoëga, Professor of Economics and MPC member; and Rannveig Sigurðardóttir, secretary of the MPC attended the meeting. 

The Governor’s introductory remarks can be found here (in Icelandic).