Time series

  Day Month Year
First date:
Second date:
Choose value:
Choose one or more currency / index:

* The index has been recalculated so that, on January 2, 2009, it was assigned a value equivalent to that of the now-discontinued Exchange Rate Index.

** This index has not been calculated since end of 2008.

Please note

April 1 2020

The Bank discontinued the publication of buying and selling rates for foreign currency on 1 April 2020. As of that date, the Bank only publishes the mid-rate for the currencies it lists. For further information, see the news release dated 9 October 2019. 

6 January 2009

The Central Bank of Iceland discontinued the publication of the Exchange Rate Index (the trade-weighted index, TWI) at the beginning of 2009, as is stated in the Bank’s news release no. 43/2006, dated 30 November 2006, and its statement on the updating of currency baskets and on new exchange rate indices. See also the Bank’s news release no. 1/2009, dated 6 January 2009.


For informational purposes, it is also noted that effective 1 January 1999, the euro became the official currency (without banknotes and coin) of 11 European countries. These countries are: Austria, Belgium, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Portugal, and Spain. Greece joined this group at the beginning of 2001. The countries’ national currencies were used until year-end 2001, and euro-denominated banknotes and coin were issued to replace them at the beginning of 2002. Since the beginning of 1999, the share of each national currency vis-à-vis the euro has been fixed.

Please note: On 1 July 2002, the Central Bank of Iceland discontinued the formal listing of exchange rates for the currencies replaced by the euro at the beginning of 2002. In a news release issued on 1 July 2002 (in Icelandic), the Bank explained this and published the coefficients to be used to calculate the exchange rate of discontinued currencies in terms of the euro exchange rate.