Nordic central banks extend currency swap agreements

The central banks of Iceland, Sweden, Norway, and Denmark have decided to extend the currently valid foreign currency swap agreements until year-end 2009.
The agreements were originally concluded on May 16, 2008. Each provides the Central Bank of Iceland with access to a maximum of 500 million euros, or a combined total of 1,500 million euros, in exchange for Icelandic krónur.

Press releases from the participating banks can be found on their websites:

Danmarks Nationalbank  (http://www.nationalbanken.dk)
Norges Bank  (http://www.norges-bank.no)
Sveriges Riksbank (http://www.riksbank.se)

No. 43/2008
November 20, 2008