Administration and organizational chart

The Bank's direction is in the hands of the Governor. Administratively, the Bank comes under the Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs and a seven-member Supervisory Board, which is elected by Parliament by a proportional vote after each general election. The Supervisory Board, which supervises the Central Bank's activities, elects a Chairman and Vice Chairman from its own ranks. Decisions on applying the Central Bank's monetary policy control mechanisms shall be taken by the Monetary Policy Committee. In other respects, the Bank's direction shall be in the hands of the Governor.  


Már Gudmundsson
Governor since 20. August 2009. 
Short CV with photos. 


Deputy Governor 

Arnór Sighvatsson


Principal officers

Capital Controls Surveillance Unit: Rannveig Júníusdóttir, Acting Director
Economics and Monetary Policy: Þórarinn G. Pétursson, Chief Economist
Finance: Erla Guðmundsdóttir, Director
Financial Market Infrastructure: Guðmundur Kr. Tómasson, Director
Financial Stability: Harpa Jónsdóttir, Director
International Relations and General Secretariat:  Jón Th. Sigurgeirsson, Director
Legal Department: Sigríður Logadóttir, General Counsel.
Operations and Human Resources: Ásta H. Bragadóttir, Director
Statistics: Tómas Örn Kristinsson, Director
Treasury and Market Operations: Sturla Pálsson, Director 
Internal Auditor: Nanna Huld Aradóttir





Supervisory Board, elected by Parliament (25 April, 2017)

Principal members: 
Thorunn Guðmundsdóttir Chairman
Sveinn Agnarsson Deputy Chairman
Björn Valur Gíslason
Sigurdur Kári Kristjánsson
Thór Saari
Frosti Sigurjónsson
Audur Hermannsdóttir

Alternate members:
Kristín Thoroddssen
Hildur Traustadóttir
Thorlindur Kjartansson
Ólafur Margeirsson
Auðbjörg Ólafsdóttir
Bára Ármannsdóttir
Sunna Jóhannsdóttir


Monetary Policy Committee

According to the Act no. 5/2009 amending the Act on the Central Bank of Iceland, no. 36/2001, decisions on applying the Central Bank’s monetary policy control mechanisms shall be taken by the Monetary Policy Committee. The control mechanisms include decisions on interest rates, part of transactions with credit institutions, decision on reserve requirements and currency market transactions. Decisions by the Monetary Policy Committee must be based on the Bank’s objectives and a thorough assessment of the current situation of and outlook for the economy and monetary issues and financial stability.

Members of the Monetary Policy Committee

Már Guðmundsson Governor of the Central Bank of Iceland, chairman,
Arnór Sighvatsson Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Iceland,
Thorarinn G. Petursson, Chief Economist of the Central Bank of Iceland,
Katrín Ólafsdóttir lecturer at the University of Reykjavik (from 5 March 2012)
Gylfi Zoëga professor in Economics at the University of Iceland.











From left to right: Thorarinn G. Petursson, Katrín Ólafsdóttir, Már Guðmundsson, Arnór Sighvatsson, and Gylfi Zoëga.


The Central Bank of Iceland conducts most of its operations at Kalkofnsvegur 1 in Reykjavík. Some activities are also housed at Einholt 4 in Reykjavík.